Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Why DP Ruto Might Not Join Any Coalition. (Opinon)

Kenya changed her constitution in 2010. This when the 6 political positions that is Member of County Assembly, Member of Parliament, Women Representative, the Senate , the Governorship and the Presidency were created. Before the 2010 constitution, there were only three political positions: Councillor, Member of Parliament and the Presidency.

In the 2010 constitution, the president and the deputy are elected together unlike in the old constitution that the president was to appoint the vice.

This when Deputy Ruto was elected together with President Kenyatta in 2013 general election and he became the first Deputy President of Kenya.

2022 polls are almost nearing and many political bigwigs are trying to unite ahead of the polls. Honourable Ruto is one person who finds it very difficult to join any coalition unless he is joined in his hustler nation.

Ruto is the second in command after President Kenyatta, he cannot deputise anybody again as the constitution doesn't allow one to be a Deputy President for more than two consecutive terms.

Content created and supplied by: TheAnalyzer (via Opera News )

Coalition County Assembly DP Ruto Kenya Kenyatta


Load app to read more comments