Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

"I will Not Interfere With Judiciary" Ruto Says During Swearing-In of The 6 Judges

David Maraga, a former chief justice, was present at the swearing-in of six justices that President William Ruto selected after his inauguration.

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) recommended the six justices in 2001, but retired president Uhuru Kenyatta rejected them due to integrity concerns.

At a ceremony overseen by Ruto on Wednesday, September 14, the judges took the oath of office at State House Nairobi.

In a video clip posted by Citizen TV, Maraga is seen joining President Ruto and his deputy Rigathi Gachagua in a photo session with Chief Justice Koome, Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu, and the newly sworn-in judges. Maraga also graced the ceremony.

Korir Weldon Kipyegon, Muchelule Aggrey Otsyula, Odunga George Vincent, and Joel Mwaura Ngugi are among the judges who previously sat on the High Court but have now been elevated to the Court of Appeal. The other two are Environment and Land Court nominees Makori Evans Kiago and Cheruiyot Omange Judith Elizabeth.

Ruto urged the judges to handle corruption cases quickly to simplify justice in his statement during the swearing-in.

"We have challenges in the time taken for corruption and commercial cases. I want to request the judiciary to support our administration in ensuring that corruption, land cases are adjudicated and concluded in a timely manner because that way we can promote Kenya as a country that attracts investment," said Ruto.

The Judicial Service Commission has seconded 40 judges and magistrates for advancement, among them were the six.

Content created and supplied by: Spotlight (via Opera News )

David Maraga JSC Maraga Philomena Mwilu Rigathi


Load app to read more comments