Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

List of nine powerful people set to decide the fate of Cherera and team.

The investigation into the four suspended IEBC commissioners Juliana Cherera, Irene Masit, Francis Wanderi, and Justus Nyang'aya will be led by Justice Aggrey Muchelule and a nine-person team.

The tribunal is made up of Col. (Retired) Saeed Khamis, Mathew Njaramba Nyabena, and Carolyne Kamende Daudi.

Irene Tunta Nchoe and Kibet Kirui Emmanuel are the joint secretaries.

The lead attorney will be Peter Munge Murage, with Zamzam Abdi Abib assisting him.

“The mandate of the tribunal shall be to consider the petition for the removal of (1) Juliana Whonge Cherera, (2) Francis Mathenge Wanderi, (3) Irene Cherop Masit and (4) Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya from office as members of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and to inquire into the allegations therein,” said President Ruto.

President William Ruto announced the suspension of the four IEBC commissioners on Friday, December 2, citing allegations of serious misconduct and constitutional violations. He then released the list of the tribunal members in a Special Gazette Notice.

Content created and supplied by: Maryomachala (via Opera News )

Cherera Irene Cherop Masit Irene Masit Irene Tunta Nchoe Mathew Njaramba Nyabena


Load app to read more comments