Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Countries Using Swahili As A National Language

Swahili language is also called kiSwahili, or Kiswahili.

Bantu language is spoken either as a mother tongue or as a fluent second language on the east coast of Africa in an area extending from Lamu Island of Kenya and in the north to the southern border of Tanzania in south Africa.

It's a national language in Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania and an official language of the East African Community which comprises of Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi and South Sudan. Its use is spreading to southern, western and northern part of Africa.

Most native speakers of Swahili about 15 million are concentrated in Tanzania. Where its used as a national language. The Arabs also introduced their religion to the Swahili people that led to the majority of Swahili converting to Islam.

Humbly, don't forget to follow my channel for more information and news updates. Also share with us your thoughts. Thanks.

Content created and supplied by: Larry254! (via Opera News )

Burundi Kenya South Sudan Tanzania kiSwahili


Load app to read more comments