Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Cherera, Masit Oppose Inclusion In Case Against Tribunal Appointed By President Ruto

Juliana Cherera, a former vice chair of the IEBC, and Irene Masit, a troubled commissioner, have opposed their inclusion in a petition to halt the work of a tribunal appointed by President William Ruto to investigate allegations of gross violation of the Constitution against them.

Cherera and Masit informed Meru High Court Judge Edward Muriithi, through their attorneys Donald Kipkorir and Apollo Mboya, that they were concentrating on a similar case filed in Nairobi.

They requested that Judge Muriithi release them from the petition that three Meru County residents had filed against them; Joshua Mwirigi, Godfrey Kinoti, and Kiogora Munjuri

The three have named the National Assembly, the Justice Aggrey Muchelule tribunal, and Attorney General Justin Muturi as respondents in the petition through their attorney, Kiogora Mugambi.

In addition to Cherera and Justus Nyang'aya, who also resigned from the commission, Irene Masit and Francis Wanderi, who were suspended, were listed as interested parties.

The three petitioners are requesting that orders be issued to prevent the tribunal, which is headed by Appellate Judge Aggrey Muchelule, from beginning its sessions.

This is done, among other things, to determine whether the Republican Party's Dennis Nthumbi, Geoffrey Langat, and Owuor Steve Jerry's four petitions for the removal of the four IEBC commissioners who disputed William Ruto's election as the country's fifth head of state and the results of the presidential election on

They claim that the removal of the four commissioners was carried out in accordance with predetermined procedures and motives that ignored the pursuit of justice.

They are now requesting that the High Court halt the tribunal's proceedings, arguing that the beleaguered commissioners were being forced out of office in violation of the Constitution, reverting the nation to its darkest era.

Content created and supplied by: ONETNews (via Opera News )

Apollo Mboya Donald Kipkorir Godfrey Kinoti Kiogora Munjuri National Assembly


Load app to read more comments