Sign in
Download Opera News App



Society COVID


Ministry of Health Issues New Directive Following New COVID-19 Variant

Scientists in South Africa on Thursday identified a concerning new coronavirus variant with mutations. The new variant have been detected in Botswana, South Africa and Hong Kong.

The United Kingdom have already bann flights from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini and and Zimbabwe.

One expert described the variant, known as B.1.1.529, as "the worst one we've seen so far", and there is concern it has the potential to evade immunity.

However, the Ministry of Health have issued new directive.

1. National and county Health facilities should prepare to handle potential increase in number of new cases. Special emphasis should be placed on availability of Critical case facilities, oxygen and human resource surge capacity.

2. Kenyans are encouraged to be fully be vaccinated against COVID-19 given that there is enough supply of vaccines.

3. All point of entry to conduct vigorous screening of all passengers form the affected countries with physical proof of vaccination before entering the country.

4. All inbound travelers into Kenyans must be in possession of negative PCR 96 hours before arrival into the country.

5. Relevant testing centers are directed to continue with surveillance to inform on the circulating variant and appropriate measures time be taken.

Content created and supplied by: Kipkirui2020 (via Opera News )

Lesotho Ministry of Health South Africa United Kingdom Zimbabwe


Load app to read more comments