Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Society


Natural disaster



The prolonged drought is a clear manifestation of global warming and climate change

The prolonged drought is a clear manifestation of global warming and climate change. More lives than ever before have been affected. It is time to be our brothers' keepers. We can not and must not wait for additional rain seasons to fail before we act. 

In light of this, I today commissioned the National Steering Committee on Drought Response which will, while complementing Government's efforts, establish a private sector-led National Drought Mitigation Appeal Fund and mobilise resources to alleviate the impact of the drought ravaging parts of the country. 

This team’s efforts will only be as good as our willingness to lend a helping hand. Now, more than ever, we need to rekindle our spirit of Harambee. 

That is why we, as Government, are making a special appeal to all Kenyans and various stakeholders to support us in saving the lives and livelihoods of our people and contribute a percentage of their salaries to a paybill number that will be established soon by this committee. 

H. E President William Samoei Ruto has immense faith in the abilities of the men and women who are part of this committee. Millions of Kenyans are looking up to you to ensure that no life is lost to hunger.

Kenyans in food-surplus counties can make their contributions through the office of the governors and the county commissioners. The governors and county commissioners will work with the Taskforce we have unveiled today and will coordinate the transfer of the food to the affected Kenyans in the 23 ASALs and pockets of 9 other counties

I want to thank these good men and women who have sacrificed time and resources to save lives in this country.

The committee will be Chaired by the Safaricom CEO Mr. Peter Ndegwa.

Other members of the Committee that will serve for one year from the day of gazettement are Dr. James Mwangi (Equity Bank CEO), Nasim Devji (Diamond Trust Bank CEO), Shamaz Savani (African Banking Corporation Bank CEO), Paul Rushdie Russo (KCB CEO) and Rebecca Mbithi (Family Bank CEO). Others are Jane Karuku (East African Breweries CEO), Joshua Chepkwony (Jamii Telecommunication CEO), Crispin Acholla (CEO, British American Tobacco), Dr. Asha Mohammed (Secretary-General Kenya Red Cross), Edwins Mukabanah (CEO, Kenya Bus Services Management), Patricia Mugambi Ndegwa (Impact Philanthropy Africa), Krishma Jitesh Chavda (ISHA Foundation) and Lt. Col. Hared Hassan (National Drought Management Authority).

The Committee Secretary is Murimi Murage from the Office of the Deputy President.

Present during the inauguration of the committee were Cabinet Secretaries Alice Wahome (Water), Peninah Malonza (Tourism and Wildlife), and Rebecca Miano (EAC and ASALs).

Content created and supplied by: REUTERSNEWS (via Opera News )

Harambee. Kenyans National Drought Mitigation Appeal National Steering Committee on


Load app to read more comments