Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


8 Counties In Kenya Without University or University College

Photo Credit: Education blog, Jambo News [Files]

As Kenya has a number of 30 public universities, 30 chartered private universities and 30 universities with Letter of Interim Authority (LIA), There are notable eight (8) counties without an university premises.

The list hereunder is of the counties without institutions of high learning, University:

1. Tana River

The county is found in coastal region of Kenya, It has no public or private university, has the following institutions; Garsen Technical and vocational training, Kenya Medical Training College (KMTC) established in September 2016.

2. Wajir

The county also found in former North Eastern region has no single university. The county host the following institutions; KMTC, Nuria college and Wajir ECDE Teachers training college.

3. Mandera

Mandera also has no university, the institution present in the region Mandera Teachers training college, Mandera vocational Training Centre and Maarifa college.

4. Marsabit

The county has vocational institutions, the present are; highlands state college, Laisamis Technical and vocational college and North Horr technical training institute.

5. Isiolo

According to numerous reports, The county government had plans of Northern Frontier University but yet to be installed. However, The county also boast of the follow institutions; Kenya Medical Training College (KMTC), Isiolo ECDE Teachers training college, St. Mary secretarial college and Karma Training Institute.

6. Elgeyo-Marakwet

The county based in Rift Valley also in spot to host no university, But have the following; Tambach Teachers training college, Chebora vocational Training College, St. Monica youth polytechnic and Cliff college of Business and Entrepreneurial studies.

7. Nyamira County

The county has this institutions; AIC Ekerubo Gitai vocational Training, Matongo Lutheran Teachers Training College (Sondu campus), Nyamanagu vocational Training Center and KMTC (Nyamira campus.

8. Kwale

Kwale county is found in coastal region, It has no university but has satellite campus for Technical university of Mombasa. However, it host KMTC (Kwale campus) and Kwale institute of Business studies.

Content created and supplied by: NewsYako (via Opera News )

Garsen Kenya Letter of Interim Authority Tana River University


Load app to read more comments