Sign in
Download Opera News App



Secondary Education


Qualifications To Be A High School Principal

In the 2018 Career Progression Guidelines, the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) introduced three classes for Secondary School Principals. Principal (T- Scale 13), Senior Principal (T- Scale 14), and Chief Principal (T- Scale 15) are the three promotional grades for Secondary School Principals listed in the Circular (T- Scale 15). The T- Scale 13 grade is described in detail below, as found in TSC's Career Progression Guidelines.


This is a promotion grade for secondary school administrators. The Principal is the institution's chief educator and accountant, and is in charge of its day-to-day operations. He or she is also in charge of the institution's educational plans, policies, programs, and curriculum activities' formulation and implementation.

Promotion to this grade will be challenging and contingent on vacancy availability of vacancies in the establishment.

A teacher must meet the following requirements to be appointed as an high school principal:

1. Have served as Deputy Principal II/Senior Master I T-Scale 12 for a minimum of three years;

2. Have a Master's degree in a relevant field;

3. Have received a satisfactory rating in the performance appraisal process;

4. Have successfully completed the relevant (TPD) modules;

5. Have a valid Teaching Certificate;

6. Have demonstrated ability to supervise.

Content created and supplied by: Vaiz (via Opera News )

Career Career Progression Guidelines TSC Teachers Service Commission


Load app to read more comments