Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


List of public universities that will be affected by strike 2021.

August-September being the critical time to all students,as some students are almost clearing their studies and others joining,The universities Academic staff Union(UASU) announces a seven day strike due to failure of Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) and attempts at dialogue to resolve the matter have failed.

According to the letter,the strike is supposed to commence on 31st August 2021 with immediate effect if the government will not have acted upon the case.It also give directions to all members in public universities and their constituent colleges shall withdraw their labour and shall not resume duty until CBA is implemented.

Some of the issues that will lead to the strike are as follows,

1.Over the failure to fully implement the UASU 2017-2021Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA)

2.To protest the unconstitutional and unlawful violation of Constitution of Kenya 2010 Article 41

3.To protest the blatant violations of the fundamental rights and freedoms of universities' academic staff.

Some of the institutions that will be affected will be affected includes; Kenyatta university, Nairobi university, Egerton university and 40 more others.

Content created and supplied by: Kinyaa (via Opera News )

Constitution of Kenya Egerton Kenyatta Nairobi UASU


Load app to read more comments