Sign in
Download Opera News App



Secondary Education


Coast lags behind in form one admission

It is the policy of the Jubilee government that all children who complete standard eight must transit to secondary school . Last year more than one million children completed standard eight and were expected to to report for form one admission on August 2nd 2021 . The education ministry is targeting for a 100% transition. This week , the provincial administration was mobilized to mop up children who are yet to report .

According to a story that appeared on the people daily, the education CS George Magoha revealed that only four counties had achieved 100% transition from primary to secondary school by Friday 27th August 2021. Those counties are Nyeri , Nyamira , Bomet and Mandera. They are followed by Nyandarua, Kisii and Wajir with 99 per cent. Homabay , Kirinyaga , migori and Kiambu with 95 per cent . KIsumu has attained 82% transition. The coast province lags behind with 60- 70 per cent transition. This represents the lowest transition rate in all the former eight provinces.

The CS said the mop up exercise will continue until all the counties achieve 100 per cent transition. Professor Magoha said that the transition policy had given learners an opportunity to fulfill their dreams. Magoha said Kenya provides the the highest amount of capitation in Africa.

What are your view on this.

Content created and supplied by: Hotnews2021 (via Opera News )

Bomet George Magoha Jubilee Mandera Nyandarua


Load app to read more comments