Sign in
Download Opera News App



Here Is The New List Of Hardship Areas In Kenya According To TSC.

The teachers Service Commission (TSC) has renewed and enlisted new areas of hardship in Kenya. In the process,TSC has reduced the total number of areas of hardship in the country from 38 to 18.

The new areas, comprising majorly those regions where there is famine and terrorism,include Garissa,Isiolo,Kwale,Lamu,Marsabit,Samburu,Tana-River,Taita-Taveta,Turkana and west Pokot counties. Some other regions include a number of sub-counties in Homabay,Baringo,Kajiado,Kitui and Narok counties.

Apart from the basic salary and other allowances of teachers in these ASAL areas,they are also entitled to a hardship allowance between sh.6,600 for the lowest grade to 38,000 on the highest grade. On the other hand,some of the areas that has been excluded from the list by TSC include all sub-counties in Nyandarua county and some others from Makueni,Kisumu,Busia,Mandi,Nakuru and Nandi.

Early this year,the Salary and Remuneration Commission (SRC) said that the introduction of devolution in 2010 has implied that counties are nolonger necessarily hardship areas since they receive equitable funds,which they claim is enough to address the issue of hardship in ASAL areas.

TSC has also announced 1376 promotional positions for Secondary and primary teachers. And according to the new CBA ,they had promise to give first priority in promoting teachers holding administrative positions in ASAL areas.

Content created and supplied by: GwaraO (via Opera News )

Garissa Homabay Pokot TSC Turkana


Load app to read more comments