Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Ministry of Education: Ministers from 1964

Education is the best avenue where young people of a nation are enlightened and enabled to gain skills to use in their daily lives.The Ministry of Education is one of the most popular ministries in Kenya. Since the ministry plays a major part in the country's economic success, the responsible minister is given the job of ensuring the efficiency of the education system. It makes sure the education curriculum is implemented and the is equity in the provision of quality education.

The first minister of Education was Hon. Joseph Daniel Otiende. He is well remembered for the reforms he introduced in Kenyan education.

Each Kenyan has at least one memory about announcements made by Education Ministers, some of which were very controversial like allowing school going girls to dress in miniskirts. Parents and KCSE and KCPE graduands have always turned into media sources to listen to result announcements from these ministers.

Under the Independence Constitution of the Republic of Kenya, members of the cabinet were known as ministers. After the promulgation of the the new constitution in 2010, the ministers came to be known as cabinet secretaries.

List Of Kenya’s Ministers Of Education Since Independence

1. Minister of Education in 1964 - Hon. Joseph Daniel Otiende (late)

2. Minister of Education in 1964, 1965, 1966, and 1967 - Hon. Mbiyu Koinange (late)

3. Minister of Education in 1967 - Hon Joseph Nyaga (late)

4. Minister of Education in 1968 -1969 - Hon. Julius Gikonyo Kiano (late)

5. Minister of Education in 1973,1974,1976,1977,1978 and 1979 - Hon. Taita Arap Towett (late)

6. Minister of Basic Education in 1975 - Hon. Dr Zachary Onyonka (late)

7. Minister of Basic Education in 1979 - Hon. Moses Mudavadi (late)

8. Minister of Education in 1980,1981,1982,1983,1984 and 1985 - Hon. Prof Jonathan Ng’eno (late)

9. Minister of Higher Education in 1980,1981,1982 and 1983 - Hon Joseph Kamotho (late)

10. Minister of Education, Science and Technology in 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1994 and 2001 - Hon. Peter Oloo Aringo

11. Minister of Education and Human Resource Development in 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2001 - Hon Kalonzo Musyoka

12. Minister of Education in 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2002 - Hon. Henry Koskey

13. Minister of Education in 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007 - Hon. Prof George Saitoti (late)

14. Minister of Education in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 - Hon. Prof Sam Ongeri

15. Minister of Education in 2012 and 2013 - Hon Mutula Kilonzo (late)

16. Minister of Education in 2013, 2014 and 2015 - Hon Prof Jacob Kaimenyi

17. Minister of Education 2016 and 2017/Cabinet Secretary for education 2016-2017 - Hon Fred Matiang’i

18. Minister of Education in 2018/Cabinet Secretary for education 2018 - Hon Amina Mohammed

19. Minister of Education in 2018/Cabinet Secretary for education 2018 to date - Prof. George Magoha

All these leaders have had great impact on the Kenyan education. Currently, the Ministry of Education is faced with challenges of implementing the Competency-Based Curriculum. But it is hoped that decisions and rulings that will be made will be in the best interest of the young generation.

Comment, share and follow me for more education articles.

Content created and supplied by: A.Kibisu (via Opera News )

Independence Constitution of Joseph Daniel Otiende KCPE Kenyan Ministry of Education


Load app to read more comments