Sign in
Download Opera News App






Kenya's Oldest Towns And The Years They Were Founded In History

Kenya has more than 100 towns across the country and all of them have their origin and the years they were established. Below are some of the oldest towns in history in Kenya you might tell your child about them when asked.

1.Lamu Town, 1370.

Lamu town is the oldest town in Kenya located on Lamu Island. It was founded in 1370 with S is Kenya's oldest continually inhabited town, and was one of the original Swahili language as its origin.

2.Mombasa city, 1591.

This is the second largest and one of the oldest towns in Kenya. It is believed that it was founded in 1591 with the Portuguese who built Fort Jesus.

3.Nairobi City, 1899.

Nairobi serves as the capital of Nairobi county. The cuty was founded in 1899 by the colonial authorities in British East Africa. The town grew gradually and by the time Kenya got her independence in 1963, it became the capital city of Kenya.

4.Kisii town, 1900.

It was founded in 1900 with some young men who used to graze the cattle there. Currently, Kisii town serves as the capital of Kisii county.

5.Kisumu City, 1901.

Located at the shores of lake Victoria, Kisumu city was established in 1901. It is occupied by the Luos and other tribes. It serves as the capital of Kisumu county and Nyaza region.

6.Eldoret Town, 1908.

It is one if the largest towns in Rift Valley region. The was established in 1908 after families of Afrikanaas who were speaking South African settlers trekked to Uasin Gishu from Nakuru. The town is also the economic center for Uasin Gishu county.

Content created and supplied by: News_Hub254 (via Opera News )

British Kenya Lamu Nairobi Swahili


Load app to read more comments